Wyoming Foreclosure Laws

Real Estate foreclosures in the State of Wyoming are both judicial and non judicial. The foreclosure process generally takes a period of about two months, exclusive of a redemption period of three months after the date of foreclosure sale.

Period of Pre-foreclosure

The foreclosure process is conducted through the court system in the State of Wyoming, if the power-of-sale clause is not included in the mortgage. The property is put up for sale once the court gives a declaration of the foreclosure.

On the other hand, if the mortgage includes the clause of power-of-sale, the lender shall have the right to dispose off the property in sale to realize the dues in the event of a default by the borrower. The lender may exercise his right to sell without seeking court's direction to the defaulter to pay off the balance of the loan in the event of a default.

In both, judicial and non-judicial, foreclosure the notice of the intent to foreclosure on the property must be delivered by the lender to the borrower within a period not less than 10 days before the date of the first publication of the sale notice.

Notice of Auction/ Sale

The lender shall publish a sale notice in a local newspaper in a frequency of at least once every week for a period of four consecutive weeks.

The sale of foreclosed property in the State of Wyoming is done through an auction in the public, with the property awarded to the person who bids highest. The sale/auction is conducted at the front door of the courthouse in the county of the location of the property. The foreclosure sale is conducted by a person duly appointed by the County Sheriff, and between the hours of 9:00 am and 5:00 pm.

In the foreclosure sale of auction, any person including the lender may submit the bid and the winning bidder gets the certificate of purchase.

The borrower is permitted a redemption period, within which the property is to be redeemed by the borrower by remitting the amount due. If the redemption is not done within the period, the prized bidder is given the full ownership.


A period of three months, after the date of the sale, is permitted to the borrower to redeem the property. Redemption of the property can be done if the borrower remits in full the amount of the purchase in the auction, along with an interest at the rate of 10 percent and any taxes due at that time.

If you need more information about Wyoming foreclosure laws, you should contact a foreclosure lawyer, or contact us so we can recommend one for you.

Park Teton Lincoln Uinta Sublette Sweetwater Fremont Hot Springs Big Horn Washakie Carbon Sheridan Natrona Albany Johnson Campbell Crook Weston Niobrara Converse Platte Goshen Laramie